

AUSTRALIAN ANGLERS ASSOCIATION

(WA Division) Inc

ABN: 88 528 806 323

PO Box 2200, Marmion WA 6020 Phone: 08 9403 7383 Email: aaawa@iinet.net.au Web Page: www.aaawa.iinet.net.au

2013/14 State Dry casting Championships.

The 2013/14 State Dry casting Championships were held on Sunday, 27 October at Yokine reserve. The weather was fine and warm with an early easterly breeze, later moving to south easterly and gusting which was not conducive to long distance casting.

The attendance could have been a lot better but was slightly up on last year, with only four clubs competing.

Once again Magic Nissan sponsored our individual and runners up trophies and we thank them for their continued support.

To make an event such as this succeed we must have people interested enough to come along and compete and I thank you all for doing so.

The camaraderie and enjoyment and the results are the main benefits and congratulations must go to all the winners on the day. Even though there were no records broken the casting was of a high standard.

There is a lot of work involved in the running of State events and I must start by thanking John Curtis and Terry Fuller in the early preparation and then on the day, John Curtis and Wendy Hansen for doing all the computer work which everything hinges around and the quickness of the results which meant an early home departure for everyone.

Ron Thomas and his band of workers had the courts up, flags out and everything in readiness by just after 7 o'clock, a credit to all concerned, and at the end of the day the way everything was brought in and packed away in the casting trailer with an inventory was worthy of note.

Pat McKeown, Andy Thorgersen and Gary Parkinson were responsible for the sausage sizzle and drinks which were available all day and appreciated by everyone. Thank you.

I must say thank you to our call up marshals as we were running three V-courts. Victor Schilo was in charge of court one, Eric Parker court two, and Terry Fuller court three. With the benefit of the sheets provided by John Curtis and these three officials, the day flowed and the co-operation of casters in helping out with the marking and scoring was great to see.

The Surfcasters and the Beachcombers provided their laser measures for use on the distance events all day and thanks must go to both clubs.

At the presentation of trophies at the end of the day there were a lot of smiling faces when they were presented with their awards by our Patron, Jim Strong. He made a brief speech at the conclusion wishing everyone well and looking forward to a larger attendance for next year.

To all who participated and the co-operation displayed, the workers and helpers I wish to express my thanks and appreciation as it made my job a lot easier.

See you all next year.

George Holman, State Casting Officer.









I have only mentioned the winners and runners up in both team and individual events as full results are available on the AAAW website and these were accessible just after 6pm on the day of the casting.

Team results.

Men's	1.	Surfcasters	1417.48%
	2.	Fremantle	1208.99%
Ladies	1.	Fremantle	639.15%
	2.	Surfcasters	595.47%
Veterans	1.	Surfcasters (team 2)	689.32%
	2.	Surfcasters (team 1)	661.97%
Juniors	1.	Fremantle	300%
Mini juniors	1.	Surfcasters	600.15%
	2.	Fremantle	440.57%

Individual results.

Men's	1.	Robert Pekaar (Surfcasters)	269.56%
	2.	Jeff Hewton (Surfcasters)	253.49%
Ladies	1.	Filomena D'Alonzo (Fremantle)	270.29%
	2.	Deidre Thomas (Surfcasters)	263.64%
Veterans	1.	George Holman (Surfcasters)	281.39%
	2.	Gary Gildersleeves (Surfcasters)	260.51%
Juniors	1.	Michael Lapthorne (Fremantle)	200%
Mini juniors	1.	Morgan Keet (Surfcasters)	294.12%
	2.	Olivia Keet (Surfcasters)	230.47%

Some of the better results on distances in each of the events on first/second basis were:

56 gram dis	Metres		
Men's	1.	Robert Pekaar (Surfcasters)	147.25
	2.	Peter Pekaar (Surfcasters)	138.63
Ladies	1.	Filomena D'Alonzo (Fremantle)	85.30
	2.	Deidre Thomas (Surfcasters)	85.96
Veterans	1.	George Holman (Surfcasters)	132.59
	2.	Chas Reigert (Beachcombers)	124.79
Junior	1.	Michael Lapthorne (Fremantle)	64.37
Mini junior	1.	Morgan Keet (Surfcasters)	89.36
	2.	Michael Pullella (Fremantle)	73.81

Artificial Bait (teams) Metres					
Men's	1.	Peter Pekaar (Surfcasters)	136.31		
	2.	Chas Reigert (Beachcombers)	130.80		
Ladies	1.	Deidre Thomas (Surfcasters)	78.79		
	2.	Filomena D'Alonzo (Fremantle)	72.62		
Veterans	1.	George Holman (Surfcasters)	114.81		
	2.	Ron Thomas (Surfcasters)	101.34		
Juniors	1.	Michael Lapthorne (Fremantle)	76.75		
Mini juniors	1.	Morgan Keet (Surfcasters)	80.45		
	2.	Owen Williams (Surfcasters)	59.24		
Artificial Bait (individuals) Metres					
Men's	1.	Peter Pekaar (Surfcasters)	143.46		
	2.	Mark Taylor (Beachcombers)	134.95		
Ladies	1.	Deidre Thomas (Surfcasters)	81.68		
Ludiou	2.	Filomena D'Alonzo (Fremantle)	66.95		
Veterans	1.	Chas Reigert (Beachcombers)	137.95		
	2.	Ian Cook (Beachcombers)	116.21		
Juniors	1.	Michael Lapthorne (Fremantle)	72.28		
Mini juniors	1.	Morgan Keet (Surfcasters)	80.20		
	2.	Cody Lapthorne (Fremantle)	56.26		
•	istan	ce (Individual)	Metres		
Men's	1.	Nick Allsworth (Fremantle)	160.66		
	2.	Robert Pekaar (Surfcasters)	159.81		
Ladies	1.	Deidre Thomas (Surfcasters)	98.47		
	2.	Filomena D'Alonzo (Fremantle)	96.47		
Veterans	1.	George Holman (Surfcasters)	154.19		
	2.	Gary Gildersleeves (Surfcasters)	136.61		
Mini juniors	1.	Morgan Keet (Surfcasters)	100.70		
	2.	Owen Williams (Surfcasters)	68.69		

Longest cast on the day was 168.27 metres by Peter Pekaar (Surfcasters)